Board of Directors

Dr Paul Roux (Chair)

Dr Roux is a Senior Paediatrician in the Department of Paediatrics of the School of Child and Adolescent Health, Groote Schuur Hospital and the University of Cape Town. He is the director of the Groote Schuur Hospital paediatric HIV/AIDS service and a co-founder of Paediatric AIDS Treatment for Africa (PATA)


Mr Denis Lloyd

Denis is the past chairman of Walkers Inc, a firm of attorneys practicing in Cape Town for more than 175 years. He read for the degrees BA Law at the University of the Free State and LLB at the University of Cape Town. He was admitted as an attorney in 1973, and has since practiced law in Cape Town. Denis joined Walkers in 1974, was appointed as a partner in 1975, and appointed as an executive consultant in 2012. Denis remains an active legal practitioner, and provides legal services over a wide range, including commercial and tax law, with special interests in curatorship, estate planning, and trusts. He currently serves on the Committee on Companies of the Cape Law Society.


Mr Donovan Adonis (Treasurer)

Donovan is our treasurer and holds a certificate in the theory of accounting from the University of Cape Town, a certificate in human resource management from the Cape Town University of Technology, and a certificate in tax from the South African School of Paralegal Studies. He is registered as a tax practitioner with the Commissioner of SARS. Donovan started as accounts manager at Walkers in 1990, and was appointed as practice manager in 1999.


Dr Hilary-Ann van Wyk

Dr van Wyk is a retired paediatrician and previously a part-time consultant in the paediatric HIV/AIDS clinic at Groote Schuur Hospital.


Professor Mark Cotton

Dr Cotton is an Associate Professor in the Infectious Diseases Service of the Tygerberg Children’s Hospital and the University of Stellenbosch He is the founder of KIDCRU, a research unit within Tygerberg Children’s Hospital. He is an international authority on paediatric HIV/AIDS.


Dr Nirvana Bechan

Dr Bechan is Associate Professor in Public Relations and Communication at the Cape Peninsula University of Technology.

Dr Kirsty Donald

Dr Kirsty Donald is a paediatric neurologist and runs the Division of Developmental Paediatrics at Red Cross War Memorial Children’s Hospital. She is particularly interested in supporting initiatives that integrate the medical care of children with HIV with developmental, scholastic and social support.

Dr Gillian Schermbrucker

Dr Gillian Schermbrucker is a Senior Paediatrician and Head of Departement of Paediatrics at Victoria Hospital, Wynberg. She is also a lecturer in the Department of Paediatrics and Child Health/UCT.


Dr Elelwani Ramugondo

Ms Ramugondo is an Associate Professor and past Head of the School of Occupational Therapy of the University of Cape Town. She also works one morning a week in the paediatric ward at Groote Schuur Hospital. She has been a recipient of a research grant from Bristol-Myers Squibb, to conduct research into play as a health-giving occupation for children living with HIV/AIDS and to promote caregiver-child interaction.


Dr Louise Cooke

Dr Cooke is a Senior Paediatrician and Head of the Department of Paediatrics at Somerset Hospital.


Change this in Theme Options
Change this in Theme Options